Tuesday, 17 October 2017 14:22

FFTCG - Back To Basics

Rate this item
(0 votes)

Not sure if you like the gameplay ?

Bought a starter and not sure how to play?

Read the rules and everything still seems vague?

Well, keep reading as we try to assist you to understand the game better and its rules. 

We hope to assist new players as well as remind old players of the rules of the game and of what can and cannot be abused. 


When making decks, use http://ffdecks.com/ 
You can even test draw decks and mulligan as well as see what is in the meta now. 

Final Fantasy Trading Card Game (FFTCG) is played with a few phases in order. 

Active Phase >> Draw Phase>> Main Phase 1>> Attack Phase>> Main Phase 2>> End Phase 

Active Phase

- All characters under the players control on the field are activated (unless frozen)
- No priority is passed.

Draw Phase

- Turn player draws 2 cards
- First player only draws 1 on their first turn
- No priority is passed.

Main Phase 1

- Turn player can play cards from their hand.
- Cards with enter the board (ETB) abilities will create a stack. 
- Summons will create a stack.
- Priority will be passed to opponent before moving to next phase. 
- If opponent passes priority back, you can move to the next phase.

Attack Phase (Attack Preparation>>Attack Declaration>>Block Declaration>>Damage Resolution)

1. Attack Preparation
- Turn player can cast summons/use abilities (will create a stack).

2. Attack Declaration
- Active forwards can declare attack. 
- Put all "when xxx attacks," abilities on the stack
- Brave forwards will remain active. 
- You may use abilities and summons before you pass priority
- Priority is passed to your opponent. 
- Opponent may use summons/abilities (continues until both pass priority)
- Stack is resolved and moves to next phase.

3. Block Declaration (once blocker is declared, the damage is block regardless)
- Opponent declares blocker (only active forwards can block, and blockers do not dull)
- Put all "when xxx blocks." abilities on the stack.
- Opponent may play summons/abilities 
- Priority is passed to turn player 
- Similarly if both players pass priority, move to next phase. 

4. Damage Resolution
- Combat damage is resolved if attack is blocked.
- Damage is taken if not blocked. Resolve EX Burst if any. 

Numbers 2-4 are repeated until turn player decides not to attack. 
Priority is passed to opponent. 
When both pass priority, move to the next phase. 

Main Phase 2 

- Similar to main phase 1
- When both pass priority, move to the next phase.

End Phase 

- Put all " at the end of the turn" abilities on the stack.
- Turn player discards card until only five (5) cards are left in hand. 

 


 

Questions 

 Difference between "Select" and "Choose"?

Generally, when a card reads choose a forward, the forward is chosen when the cost is paid for and cannot be changed.
When a card reads select a forward, the action is done at resolution. 

 Reducing a forward's power to 0 the same as breaking it?

No it is not the same. When a forward's power is reduced to 0, it is Put into the breakzone and therefore does not break. 
Cards like Titan can protect forwards from breaking, but cannot protect them from being put into the breakzone. 


What is Priority? (as explained in the official rules)

11.1.1. A player with priority can play a card or an ability.

11.1.2. The turn player gains priority after all auto-abilities indirectly triggered at the start of a Phase or step are placed onto the stack.

11.1.3. Any rule processes are resolved before either player gains priority. Resolve all rule processes simultaneously and if this triggers any further new rule processes to resolve then resolve those processes simultaneously, repeating the procedure until no new processes arise.

11.1.4. When a player gains priority, put all triggered auto-abilities onto the stack. Repeat this procedure until there are no new rule processes to resolve and no auto-abilities to put onto the stack, then the player with priority can play a card or an ability, or forfeit priority.

11.1.5. After a Summon or an ability is resolved, the turn player gains priority.

11.1.6. If a player with priority chooses to do nothing (i.e. forfeits priority), his or her opponent then gains priority. (*very important)

 11.1.7. If both players chose to forfeit the priority consecutively and the stack is not empty, the Summon or ability at the top of the stack is resolved. If the stack is empty, the current Phase or step will end. (**very important)

 

What is a Stack?

7.12.1. This is the Zone into which Summons and abilities are temporarily placed.

7.12.2. The stack is a public Zone. All players can see the cards and abilities in this Zone.

7.12.3. The order in which Summons and abilities are placed into the stack is strictly governed by the rules. When a new Summon or ability is put into the stack, it is placed on top of the other Summons or abilities already in the stack

 

What is Ex Burst?

11.10.1. Some Summons or Character cards are marked with the Ex Burst icon.

11.10.2. When a player takes damage and puts the top card of his or her deck into the Damage Zone, if the card turned over has the Ex Burst icon, the player may apply the effects written on the card immediately. Using Ex Burst is optional, and the player may choose not to use the effects when the card is revealed. Players cannot respond to an Ex Burst. (***very important)

11.10.3. Summons initiating an Ex Burst apply all of their effects. Other cards only apply the effects of the auto-abilities they possess that are marked with the EX burst icon.

 


Example 1 of using a stack: 

Opponent uses Titan to save their forward, you can respond by using Odin by stacking on top of Titan

If Titan is on the stack, the forward will not break. If Odin is on the stack, the forward will break.

 

Similarly, Example 2

When blocking with a 8K, and casting Golem the forward will be 12K power. This actually creates a stack, 

You can use Vivi's ability, and stack it on top of Golem, to break the forward before it gets +4K power. 

Example 3

 

If fairy is cast on a forward, and something removes the chosen forward on the stack, the caster cannot draw a card. 


If you have questions, do not hesitate to ask. Lets build the community together. 

-jon-

Read 536 times
Login to post comments

Search the Classroom

classmates login

Latest Content